Fitting the Pieces Together

Through all the readings of articles and different researches we’ve been reading, I admit I wish I had studied in the field of education a lot sooner than waiting until now for completion of my masters. Yet my learning still conforms to “constructivism” in constructing knowledge and meaning for myself as I learn. Constructing meaning is learning of which I have reviewed from Piaget and Vigotsky, to name a few. Hands on learning, I’ve had the opportunity to experiment with an array of learning in understanding how to construct my own learning environment (Kim 2001).

Vygotsky focused on humans using tools ‘that develop from a culture, such as speech and writing, to mediate their social environments.’ We as children develop these tools and gradually become more functional in ways to communicate our needs, and eventually higher thinking skills. Learning becomes a mutual experience for students and instructors in promoting learning contexts where the students/learners do their part in drawing their learning potential into action, while we as instructors collaborate with our students in order to help facilitate their meaning and construction. Learning will eventually becomes a mutual experience for the students and teacher.

I have become more reliant on new technology which I find useful and also a burden at the same time. Forgetting my phone at home at times gives me a sick feeling that I’m missing so much. What did I do before I had a cell phone? I think my life was a little bit easier. But I take the opportunity to use new information and skills in programs like Adobe’s Photoshop and Illustrator of which I can incorporate into actual work programs like Captivate in designing teaching presentations, especially to those in our organization that are not computer savvy.

Bandura’s (2011)social learning theory focuses on how people learn by observing others behavior, attitudes, and outcomes. A person can form an idea of new behavior from modeling another or having continuous interaction and use this as a guide line. Of course, as he states, effective modeling would include attention, retention, reproduction, and motivation.

I realized my learning pattern has changed and don’t doubt that I’ll ever stop learning new learning practices because I find them interesting and enriching for my benefit.

 Resources:

Bandura, A. (Feb 2011) Learning Theories Knowledgebase. Social Learning Theory at Learning-Theories.com. Retrieved from http://www.learning-theories.com/social-learning-theory-bandura.html

Vygotsky, L.S. (1978). Mind and society: The development of higher mental processes. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press

Leave a Reply

